Postcards Credit: MorgueFile by Cohdra

Heaven-Sent Message in a Postcard from Nova Scotia

Postcards Credit: MorgueFile by CohdraNo one sends postcards anymore. That’s a shame. A postcard may prove someday to be a humble but emotional link to a loved one.

This may come long after they’ve left their earthly existence.

Did you know there’s a National Postcard Week? This year it’s May 4–10.

Recently, I received a message from heaven. It came via a tattered postcard from Nova Scotia. The heaven-sent note is obviously from my mother. She passed over eight years ago.

You see, it’s an effective way for her to say “hello” because Nova Scotia and my mom were as one. Truthfully, she had a lifelong sizzling love affair with Nova Scotia.

Let me explain:

Crying and Closet Demolition

My husband, and I, are renovating one part of our old home. My mom brought me home from the hospital to this house. I grew up here then left for years.

Eventually, I returned to raise my daughters in the same house. Life would whisk me away again, but I’ve been back in this home for six years now.

Anyway, we tore down a huge closet in a room which was at one time my mother’s bedroom.

Renovating my family home triggered a cauldron of schmaltziness to bubble. I believe it was the result of hundreds of distinct and just as many hazy, memories.

When the old closet came down I experienced a weird emotional reaction of heavy sadness. It pitched me into an uncontrollable outburst of weeping. Every day I still miss my mother.

Enter the Message from Heaven

I began sorting all the gobbledygook we removed from the closet. Some of the boxes, baskets and trash bags belonged to my mother. Some were mine.

OK, time to distract myself from mushiness. Armed with Kleenex, I thought it best to start by digging in to a couple of my boxes instead of moms.

In the first box I open, on top of all the other stuff, there it sits: a postcard my mother sent me 19 years ago from Cape Breton, Nova Scotia. I barely remembered it.

Schooner Adventure Lives On

On a beautiful June day, she wrote me a note to say one of her dreams came true: She went out on the Schooner Amoeba.

In her stunning handwriting, she squeezed in all the details she could possibly fit on the little postcard. She covered every available inch with her giddy excitement.

I have no doubt that my mother reached out to put her arms around me at that moment.

Physically, my mother isn’t here with me. However, I’ve now received immeasurable comfort to feel her spirit still radiating within an old postcard from Nova Scotia.

Sources:

NationalPostcardWeek.com

Amoeba Sailing Tours – Roy’s Dream

Image Credit: MorgueFile by Cohdra

7 thoughts on “Heaven-Sent Message in a Postcard from Nova Scotia

  1. Dan Antion

    I see from the faces in your community that we have a lot in common, at least the folks we like to read. I’m adding you to my list too. This is a great story. My father died too early, but I think of him during projects because I did so many with him. I can hear him reminding me to do things a certain way and I think I know when he would be happy with the work I’ve done. The postcard was special, I’m glad you found it.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Cathy A Montville Post author

      Hi Dan,

      We do appear to like quite a few of the same bloggers. Thank you so much for adding me to the list. That’s great and much appreciated.

      I love to hear snippets of how people still connect with loved ones who’ve passed over. They are never far from our side! 🙂

      Thank you, too, for popping in to read some of my work. My blog is new so I don’t have a lot to offer just yet, but my library will grow.

      Take care!

      ~Cathy~

      Like

      Reply
  2. Swoosieque

    This is so charming but sadly, so true that the practice of sending postcards is rare. I really believe that your Mom was with you during that part of the renovation when you rediscovered the postcard. What a beautiful story!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Cathy A Montville Post author

      Hi Swoosieque,

      Thank you for stopping by and for the sweet comment. It’s nice to know other people believe it was a message from heaven.

      It wasn’t my first sign, but it was of great significance at that moment.

      ~Cathy~

      Like

      Reply

Thanks for stopping by! I'd love to hear your thoughts!

